03563-250067, 8436238571




 Netaji Subhash Open University

  • About
  • Faculty
  • Programme Offered
  • Running Students
  • Passout Students
  • Notice
  • Academic Resource



Netaji Subhas Open University is the premier State Open University in India. The year 1997 was the birth centenary year of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose. The Chief Minister of West Bengal made an announcement at a State function that an Open University would be set up soon and dedicated to Netaji's hallowed memory.


Year of Establishment:  31st May, 2019



The NSOU, the only State Open University in West Bengal, delivers to build up the quality human resource base of the State and, along with other Open Universities of the country, and moves towards the improvement of the quality of open distance education. It also intends to promote and develop appropriate ambience to develop an international standard distance education scenario in our country, keeping in view of the demands for education of the learners in tune with the requirements of the twenty-first century.

To propagate quality education in flexible mode all over the State and to provide access to different skills- enhancing educational programs.

  • To collaborate with other Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) for academic and research Endeavour’s.
  • To provide education in the vernacular language, i.e., Bengali and making it available at low cost to the underprivileged people.
  • To provide facility of Lifelong education to the intending learners.
  • To integrate technological tools in the pedagogy for facilitating the learning experiences.
  • To contribute to the existing body of knowledge through research and extension activities.
  • To render services for the development of the State in particular and the Nation in general in order to sensitize the learners towards a humanistic and democratic ecosystem.



  2.   Dr. Chanchal Sinha  View Profile
  4.   Prof. Gobinda Roy  View Profile


  1.   Dr. Masihur Rahaman   View Profile
  4.  Prof. Pranab Basak  View Profile


  3.  Dr. Badal Roy   View Profile
  2.  Dr. Bikash Roy  View Profile

Political Science

  1.  Prof. Amarendra Nath Barman   View Profile


  1. Prof. Dipan Bhowel  View Profile

Environmental Studies

  1. Dr. Palash Samanta   View Profile


  1. Kaushik Debnath   View Profile

Passout Students

Academic Resource